Chai-Spiced ‘Bun’ Cake

THE SENTIENT BAKER

Cinnamon rolls have a special place in my heart, so much so that, when recently attempting to discuss these Swedish baked delights with a German speaker, I could only recall the authentic Swedish name “Kanelbullar”. Here in Germany they are called “Zimtschnecke”, which, adorably, translates to “cinnamon snail”. My partner and I like to celebrate Kanelbullensdag on the 4th of October and we’ve eaten cinnamon buns in many different cities. I can tell you that no two are the same and that preference is deeply personal. I like  to eat them warm from the oven and for this, more often than not, I have to make them myself. They are the perfect Fika food, ideal with a strong coffee on a lazy morning.

December is all about spice here at SentientBaker and I couldn’t see out the month without a tribute to my dearest cinnamon buns. I adore chai…

View original post 712 more words

Leave a Reply

