Strawberries and Cream Cake

Beautiful!

THE SENTIENT BAKER

It is both a privilege and a responsibility to make a birthday cake. I have lost count of the cakes I’ve made over the years to celebrate the lives of those I love; each one as different as as the people they were made for. Recent bakes include a cardamom loaf with citrus cream cheese frosting for a classmate, a deeply dark and moist chocolate cake for my mother and a raspberry-almond tart for my boyfriend. Birthday gifts are often welcomed but rarely needed, what we need most of all is the acknowledgment and love of those around us. And what better gesture of love is there than to present carefully crafted layers of sponge, chocolate, fruit and buttercream?

I take birthday cake baking seriously and, when the duty falls to me, I am deliberate in considering the personality, preferences and style of the person I’m baking for. Strangely, the…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

